Types Of Grains

Grains are the edible seeds of various members of the grass family. Each seed consists of four parts:

• The husk—an inedible fibrous outer layer that is removed during processing

• The endosperm—the starchy mass that forms most of the kernel

• The bran—a tough but edible layer covering the endosperm

• The germ—the tiny embryo that forms the new plant when the seed sprouts

A product labeled whole grain consists of the endosperm, bran, and germ.The grain may be polished or milled to remove the bran and germ.White rice and other polished grains are only the endosperm.

Although rice appears on menus more often than other grain starches, several other grains can also be served as side dishes to add variety to your menu.The most popular of these grains are described following the section on rice.

Continue reading here: Rice

Was this article helpful?

0 0